EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Comments and suggestions on the EZFlora irrigation controller

Moderator: Justin

mikeklein
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:23 pm

EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby mikeklein » Fri May 08, 2009 1:17 pm

I believe this is the case...just want to check.

In my app when I toggle one sprinkler on and then set another...I don't get notify that first one was turned off but it is.

I guess I need to send the valveStatus message to ezrain so it notifies me in these cases? Or I can in my app merely assume that if valve1 WAS turned on...I can safely turn off the last valve that was on...thus skipping need for this notify.

mikeklein
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby mikeklein » Tue May 19, 2009 7:50 pm

Is this true?

I read something else saying control was limited to 4 zones concurrent due to some power supply issues. This may have been older EZRain unit though.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby grif091 » Tue May 19, 2009 8:06 pm

What cmd1 and cmd2 values are being issued by your application to control which valve is On and Off?

EDIT: the Value Status Byte has 3 bits to return the Active valve number. That would suggest that one valve can be active at a time.

mikeklein
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby mikeklein » Tue May 19, 2009 9:04 pm

Code: Select all

    protected void turnOn(InsteonSprinkler device)
...snip...
            getProcessor().sendIns(getID(), "0x0F", "0x40", device.getID());
...snip...
    }

    protected void turnOff(InsteonSprinkler device)
    {
...
            getProcessor().sendIns(getID(), "0x0F", "0x41", device.getID());
...
    }

mikeklein
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby mikeklein » Tue May 19, 2009 9:06 pm

I think I know where this is leading...can I OR the valves together for cmd2?

There are 8 of them...coincidence? I think not...

I don't really need this capability...it's generally more of a strain on your water pressure/effectiveness anyways.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby grif091 » Tue May 19, 2009 9:15 pm

Sorry but I could not determine from your code snippet what the actual hex cmd1 and cmd2 values are being sent. I would like to check the command documentation for the sequence you are using first but I'm pretty sure the answer is no in terms of ORing the value numbers.

mikeklein
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:23 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby mikeklein » Tue May 19, 2009 9:18 pm

device ids are 1-8 corresponding to valve#

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby grif091 » Tue May 19, 2009 9:25 pm

If the command for valve ON is 0x40, then the cmd2 value is the valve number 0-7 for values 1-8. Not sure how that squares with your last post that you use values 1-8. Cmd2 for a cmd1 of 0x40 is a number, not a bit pattern. You cannot OR valve numbers.

David
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:15 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby David » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:45 pm

So... sorry for beating a dead horse but; I have a EZServe controling my EZrain, is it possible to have 2 valves run at once :?:
Last edited by David on Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby grif091 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:09 pm

No. One zone at a time. Turning on zone x turns off zone y if it was on. The number of heads in a given zone are often based on the available flow capacity. Turning on two valves could exceed the water supply capacity. That is not a hard and fast rule as some zones have few heads. I have connected two valves to the same zone when using a RainBird controller years ago but some controllers limit a zone to one valve.

David
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:15 pm

Re: EZFlora controls only one valve at a time correct?

Postby David » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:34 pm

Thank you, very clear! :mrgreen:


Return to “EZFlora”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest