How to Set V8 to Pump

Comments and suggestions on the EZFlora irrigation controller

Moderator: Justin

dblee50
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:48 pm

How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby dblee50 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:57 pm

I have the EZFlora and want to use it with my sprinkler system that uses an electric pump. I have an ISY setup and it identified each of the valves, but don't think it can turn on valve 8 with other without an internal setting to the EZF. I downloaded the utility but it doesn't appear to work with ISY or my Smartlinc Insteon central controller # 2412N that has an eithernet connection. Not sure how to change EZF settings without being able to use the utility. Can anyone offer instructions/help? thx

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby grif091 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:18 pm

You need a PLM for the SHN Utility Suite to interface with the powerline to the EZFlora. If no spare PLM the ISY PLM can be connected to a serial port on a PC. The SHN Utility makes no changes to the PLM so no affect to the ISY beyond being down while the EZFlora is being updated.

dblee50
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby dblee50 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:28 pm

OK, I hooked up from computer serial port to isy serial. Using utility program it connected, no problem. Then when I went to the ezflora tab and tried to set zone 8 to pump, entered the inseton id and tried to read, it timed out with four attempts then gave me an insteon message timeout error. In isy, i can see the ezflora and can turn valves on/off. I then tried rebooting isy and trying the same thing, but then got Unexpected inbound message type. 2 7D FF 00..... several times then the inseton message timeout error again. not sure what I'm doing wrong.? configuration of isy wiring is: network connected, serial b connected to computer, port a to smartlinc 2412N connected and powered up.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby grif091 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:25 pm

"I hooked up from computer serial port to isy serial"

Was the ISY or the PLM connected to the PC serial port?

dblee50
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby dblee50 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:37 pm

I pulled the PLM out and it is a 2413S with an Ethernet connection to the isy port a. The serial cable runs from PC to isy port b, which is the serial port on the isy.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby grif091 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:10 pm

It is the PLM that connects to the PC serial port. The SHN Utility will communicate with the powerline through the PLM. The ISY is not operational for as long as the PLM is connected to the PC serial port.

dblee50
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby dblee50 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:32 pm

Thanks. I had to go dig thru cables to find a serial to ethernet cable. Hook it up as you said and it seems to work. I double clicked on zone 8 is a pump and the v8 pump control block on the right is checked. The valve broadcast is checked also, not sure if it matters. Is there any other setting I have to make this way before going back to isy? I will be using isy programs to operate the ezflora for my sprinkler zones. thanks for your help as I would still be lost.

grif091
Posts: 996
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:50 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: How to Set V8 to Pump

Postby grif091 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:41 pm

I think that is all the EZFlora needs. Once you get back to the ISY Zone 8 will no longer respond to ISY commands directed at Zone 8 as it is no longer a "Zone".


Return to “EZFlora”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest