Time Zone Settings Malfunction

This product has been discontinued

Moderator: Justin

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:11 pm

If you do not see the popup when you change the zipcode and save, then the App is not the latest version(Make sure you uninstalled the old version). The HG is perfectly fine. The cloud servers I just checked are perfectly fine. How about we do a Teamviewer session and look at the problem together? Let me know when is the best time for you. We are in Pacific timezone.
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:44 pm

Maybe I'm expecting something to happen when it doesn't by design? So when I enter a new zip code and then click the search button, nothing officially updates until I then click the save button, wait 30 seconds and then navigate back to the time zone page? I just did this and it is now properly populated. Not exactly intuitive but it seemed to work. It would be more reassuring to have all the settings first populate with correct data and then allow you to save them. But if this is the process and it sticks, I'm good with that. 8)

But I'm still left with the question as to why it altered these settings randomly in the first place. Is there a certain situation that requires resetting the time zone? Powering off (power failure), loss of internet or something else? Just trying to figure out what may be causing the change in time in the first place.

Let's see if it sticks or not this time and if not, I'll let you know. Sorry to have taken so much of your time but I do appreciate your help. I do have another question regarding the temperature probe but I'll start a new thread for that.

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:57 pm

Yes by design, the App sends the Gateway the new settings, the Gateway then retrieves these from the cloud, then the App has to get these new values from the Gateway again. So its not that intuitive at the moment, but that's how it works for now.

Every night at 2AM the Gateway will try to sync with the cloud server and get updated values. If the cloud is not available then it's probably causing some errors. It's supposed to handle the errors but I guess something is causing an issue. That's what I have to debug and solve.

Thanks for your patience.
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:46 pm

Here's an update... The HG once again lost its times again today. I'm not sure if this was the case previously but this time I had the app open and running on my PC all day. I was able to reset and save it properly and it accepted the current times as required. PLease let me know if you need anything from me regarding this incident. I'm curious if the upcoming Harmony G1 will alleviate the possibility of these issues and if so, when can I upgrade to it? I'm partially joking but seriously, if it handles timing differently and more dependably, I'd be all over that. :P

Also, I had a question regarding the temp probe on another forum that I will link to here for ease of access...
http://smartenit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=978&sid=1c351a37cc1fe9f6e0260914e89d4905

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:36 pm

Found the problem. Working on the fix. Will release an update very very soon...thanks for your patience.

Regarding the EZFlora let me check the Turn Off option and I'll reply on that thread.
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:53 am

That's good to hear and thank you.

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:39 pm

Just an update that it happened again today. Noticed yard lights not coming on and checked the time zone settings. They were incorrect. Reset and saved.

Any update on the possible fix?

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:30 am

Very close to releasing a beta version. I'll let you know very soon.
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:46 pm

That's good news and thanks. Looking forward to this beta.

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:20 pm

New Version v1.25 is uploaded, please follow the Upgrade procedure here: http://wiki.smartenit.com/index.php?title=Harmony_Gateway_Firmware_Upgrade
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Sat Oct 04, 2014 12:33 pm

Excellent! I upgraded to v1.25 and so far everything is working properly. Thank you very much.

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Sat Oct 18, 2014 11:55 am

A quick update for you. Up until last night and since I'd done the firmware update, everything had been working correctly with correct times and location. Then last night, all the time zone settings were lost as before. But this time, when I went to reset it with my location, after waiting the 30 seconds as directed by the pop-up, when I went back to the page there was "null" in the place of the location field and nothing was updated. Attempting to reset everything multiple times ended with the same null data and with no updated location or times. This morning, it took the location input as it should and everything is correct as it should be.

Dhawal
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby Dhawal » Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:13 pm

Thanks for the feedback.

These time glitches are not acceptable, We will look into this and fix any issues out there.
Regards,
Dhawal
dhawal.d@smartenit.com
(949) 429-3303

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:21 am

Happened again tonight (10-23-2014) at exactly 11 PM PST. After an attempt to reset, I received the "null" data in the location field. I'll attempt to reset it again tomorrow.

weatherson
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: Time Zone Settings Malfunction

Postby weatherson » Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:47 am

It reset correctly this morning at 9:45 AM.


Return to “Harmony Gateway”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest